Novel Update #3

Just a quick update on the progress of The Lost Tower:

Returning visitors to this blog may have noticed the progress bar in the upper right hand corner of the screen.  I draw your attention to this bar to spotlight the fact that this week I hit the 25% threshold of my original target word count of 100,000.  Now, that length is a standard novel, not the epic door stops typical of the genre, but good-sized for Book One in a series.

So, at 25,000+ words, why have I only written seven chapters?

Some of you may recall how I discussed the ever-changing traditional publishing market for fiction from first time authors, even within the realm of fantasy.  My goal this year was to outline and write a novel closer to that marketable length of 100,000 words.

Alas, two important things have happened:

  1. Although my target word count was and still is 100K words, after outlining and breaking down the outline by scenes, my revised estimate word count is close to double that.
  2. I have decided not to pursue an agent or traditional book publisher.  When completed, I will publish as en eBook directly to the Amazon Kindle store, the Barnes and Noble Nook store, and a few others.  So, if you don’t have an eReader yet, the make really great Christmas gifts for the readers in your family and circle of friends.

Some of you may be wondering if publishing electronically and bypassing the regular publishing route is wise.  I will post in the near future about the logic behind this decision and the tremendous opportunity it is when compared with the old way of publishing books.  In short, more people will be able to read my stories at a better price.

So, am I really 25% of the way finished?

Yes and No.

Yes to my original target.

No based on revised projections.

What does this mean?

It means I have a lot more writing to do to finish this novel by the end of the year so it is available for download by all those new eReaders everyone will be purchasing.

–Mark

5 responses to “Novel Update #3

Leave a Reply

Scott's Grimoire

MY SPOT OF INK: my ramblings on the ups and downs of writing a fantasy novel (or anything else that grabs my interest - books, food, movies, life)

The Undiscovered Author

A Day in the Life of aspiring Fantasy Author Stephen A. Watkins

Geoff's Ruminations

The thoughts and passions of a hopeful future author.